Eating right while traveling – is it possible or automatic failure??

Workout: 28 box jumps (1 min), 2 sets of 10 each: bicep curls (20lbs), overhead press (15lbs), chest press (15lbs), tricep extentions (15lbs), crunches on Bosu ball

So today I had to drive to Raleigh, NC and back from Charlotte.  It’s about a 3 hour drive and totally doable in one day, especially considering how I try to minimize time away from my girls.  (Funny how being away from my husband doesn’t weigh on me as much as being away from the kids does – guess that’s part of life!).  I’m really trying to get back on track with eating right since I’ve been slipping a bit the past two weeks with all of my traveling.  Mind you, this has not been a full-out fall off the wagon, but only a little more lenient with my cheats than I should be.

So is it possible to eat right or are you destined for failure when you travel (even for a day trip)?

The most important thing I can do is to start my day on the right foot – a healthy breakfast!  As usual, I had my Quaker Old-Fashioned Oats but I add in a teaspoon of flax seeds, a teaspoon of Amazins, some chopped natural almonds (no salt added) and a teaspoon of honey just to sweeten it up a bit.  I also keep my water cup filled at all times.  I like using these insulated cups with the lid and straw because it keeps my water colder for longer.

It’s also important to pack healthy snacks so you are not tempted to make bad choices.  Although I had packed a banana and actually ate it around 8:30, I still ended up having my beloved tall hot chocolate and blueberry scone at Starbucks around 9:00.  POOR CHOICE!!

A moist scone studded with blueberries and topped with sugar crystals.

Nutrition Facts Per Serving (120 g)
Calories 460 Calories from Fat 190

I just can’t resist such goodness!

I’m happy to say that I did eat sensibly for lunch at the Tribeca Tavern.  I had the Grilled Chicken Salad with the dressing on the side.  No time for an afternoon snack which left me with a carb craving for dinner but managed to get through it with seared chicken breast, steamed broccoli and a teaspoon of peanut butter to satisfy my urge for something sweet.

Leaving the house at 6:30 am, driving all day and participating in a proposal meeting with a potential new client has left me beat.  Even though I’m a better at working out in the morning, I figured it was best to sleep in this morning to be better-rested for the day and do my exercise at night.  I don’t like to do this because you never know what the day will bring and it’s easy to get off track at the end of the day.

How do you maneuver through the pitfalls of eating healthy while traveling?

Do you work out in the morning or at night?

This entry was posted in Healthy Lifestyle, Travel, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

