Ripe Bananas & 3rd Grade Again?

Workout:

  • Sunday – rest

Today was a challenging, but fulfilling, day.  The family woke up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed because we had a lot to get done since we spent Saturday in Georgia.

Gracie’s in the third grade this year and it really has been tough.  I’d heard second was the worst but third is NO JOKE!  I think it’s because they are learning to take their own notes and then study from them for the test.  Totally sounds simple to us as adults but it’s not easy for little ones when they are first starting out.

So we spent half of the day working on her science project that is due on Friday.  It has something to do with picking an animal and making a replica of it out of potatoes…we worked on the cube part today which is basically the information piece of the animal she has picked.

The Cube

I don’t know about the rest of you guys but being a parent when your child is struggling is difficult, to put it mildly.  Part of me just wants to do it myself because watching her work through it so slowly is painful – I just want to get it done!  And I realize it’s so painful because as an adult, I already know how to do all of this and it’s hard to remember that she’s 8 and she’s just learning.  Oh, and I’m not trained in early childhood education!  So, I gather the most patience I can and I try to teach her how to study and I sit back and watch her do the rest.  I swear I don’t remember my parents having to work this closely with me but I do remember struggling and thinking the rest of my class was passing me by.  So for now, I guess I’m going through 3rd grade again!  🙂

What do you do when you have ripe bananas?  Make banana bread, of course!  I made Banana Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Bread but I threw in some flax seeds and peanut butter chips as well.  It was SO good!

What’s your go-to recipe when you have ripe bananas?

Does anyone else struggle helping their child in school?

This entry was posted in Baking, Kids, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ripe Bananas & 3rd Grade Again?

  1. tonya says:

    Jameson also struggles with certain subjects.. Its really hard not doing things for them.. But as they grow they realize the independence. I also make banana bread or muffins.

Leave a Reply

