Save the Ta-Ta’s!

Workout:

  • Saturday – Komen Race for the Cure – 5k (33:35)

Yesterday morning I Raced for the Cure.  I think this is my 5th year but I would probably have to go back and count my race shirts to be sure.  In just as many years as I’ve run it, I’ve had a dear neighbor run it with me.

There were a ton of people there as usual.  They changed the course this year and there were a lot more hills than normal.

Jenn and I weren’t nearly as dedicated with our attire as some people…

About 2 months ago, I finally went in for that baseline mammogram that my doctor suggested I get (now that I’m getting old!).  She’d recommended I do it back in December but I’d been putting it off – not because I was scared but because I’ve been busy.  You know how that goes.

So I went in, extremely nervous because I just had a bad feeling.  It wasn’t as bad as what I’d heard other women say, just uncomfortable and awkward but I made it through.  Done, yeah…until a week later when the doctor’s office called to say they’d seen something they didn’t like.  They refused to use the word “abnormal” which is apparently a pretty scary term in the medical world.  They requested that I come back in for additional scans.  Of course I wanted to go in the very next day but they didn’t have anything available for a week…quite possibly the longest week of my life.

We’d already planned to go on a final summer surprise vacation with the girls before school started so we went on as planned.  At this point in our lives, I believe we all know of someone who has been touched by breast cancer.  The disease is sometimes too close to home.  I cook for a woman in our church who’s life has been turned upside down by cancer, all starting with breast cancer.  She has two beautiful daughters, ages 9 and 10, and I pray every day that she gets to see them grow old and have babies of their own.

And so I began to look closer at my life and my own two beautiful daughters.  The doctors hadn’t even said “abnormal” and I was already scared to death.  Needless to say, it was a deeply emotional week but it was also an extremely precious week because I cherished every moment of it – just like the song “Live Like You Were Dying”.  Tim McGraw kind of had a point!

So to end this story on a happy note, after 5 grueling scans (yes, because these hurt), they decided that my Girls are a little tougher to get a good picture of so we need to keep an eye on them.  And because they are like they are, I have to go in each year to get a mammogram instead of waiting until I’m 40 (it’s not that much longer anyway).

Ladies, get your Ta-Ta’s checked!!!  Don’t put it off.  Do it for yourself, your family and your friends!

This entry was posted in Healthy Lifestyle, Running, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

