Happy Thanksgiving!

Workout:  Turkey Trot 8k – 52:59

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!!  I have no idea how this holiday snuck up on us so quickly.  It always seems that as soon as Thanksgiving comes, the rest of the year just flies by and before you know it, it’s a new year already!

This year we decided to stay home for Thanksgiving.  We’d traveled to my Mom and Dad’s for the past several years but I’ve been traveling enough lately myself and actually have a couple more trips before Christmas so I could really use the time just hanging around my house and resting.

We’re not a family that particularly likes turkey, other than the occasional turkey sandwich and that’s usually compliments of Oscar Mayer.  So we decided against turkey this year and in favor of the bird we all love…especially when he’s FRIED!!  Shannon can fry a chicken better than KFC and Bojangles combined and the girls eat it up!

Since we were straying from the traditional fare, we decided to just have everyone’s favorite sides: Crash-Hot Potatoes, Sweet Potato Casserole, and green beans (I guess these aren’t technically anyone’s favorite side but we had to have something green to counteract all of the potato starch…I tried THIS recipe).

Gracie loves pumpkin pie.  Me?  Not so much so I made one that I actually enjoy myself – Double Layer Pumpkin Pie.  Luckily, the entire family enjoyed it as well.

But before all of the eating could commence, my partner-in-crime and I ran the Turkey Trot 8k in Charlotte.  This was my first Turkey Trot and my first time running any distance over a 5k since my marathon in May.  Crazy.  Amazing how things started aching.  I seriously need to get on track running regularly again!

Hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

This entry was posted in Family Fun, Food, Healthy Lifestyle, Running, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

