The Birthday Celebration!

Ah, I’m such a sucker for birthdays!!  I LOVE them!  My parents raised me that way and it’s a hard habit to break.  Your birthday is YOUR DAY!  I don’t care about getting gifts; to me, it’s just about having one day that is going to special without question.

And for me, that’s actually a celebration that sometimes stretches over a few days.

Friday I picked up my birthday cake.  Yes, I order it and I pick it up.  Shannon would be more than happy to do all of that for me, but it’s closer to where I work and it’s actually fun to pick the flavors and the design.  We always get my cake from Edible Art.  This year I chose the almond cake with the raspberry filling.  See how beautiful it is?!?!?!

Saturday we went to my favorite restaurant like we always do.  Upstream has the best seafood and it’s really become our place to celebrate.  I had my usual sea bass and Shannon had the grouper.  We started our meal with oysters and sushi.  It was all delicious as usual.

Sunday was a true family day, complete with art project, but more on that later!

And FINALLY, today was a wonderful celebrated by all my friends and family.  A special powerbar surprise at CrossFit this morning followed by more cupcakes than I could ever imagine at work:

IMG_0569

…another dinner with my family:

IMG_0570

…and a special gift from my BFF – a puzzle of the map of my childhood home in the city I grew up in:

_DSC0042

All in all, it was an absolutely wonderful day and I am truly blessed to have so many people love and care about me!  Kind of takes the sting out of aging!

This entry was posted in Family Fun, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

