The Babysitting Co-Op

I don’t know about you, but Shannon and I rarely make time to go out on dates.  I think it’s because I’m away from the girls so much for work that I don’t want to leave them the rest of the time.  So we end up having two nights out a year – my birthday and our anniversary and from what I read/hear, this is pretty much one of the worst things you can do for your marriage.

429-husband-wife-date-night-cartoon

Source

Not only do I miss my children, but we don’t really have a set babysitter that we can call on.  We do have neighbors, but then I end up feeling like I’m taking advantage of them and feel the need to rush home right after dinner.

So, a group of us decided to create what we call the Babysitting Co-Op.  There are three couples altogether with 5 kids between us, ages ranging from 3 all the way up to 11.  It’s set up such that there’s a date night every two weeks and each couple watches the kids once every six weeks.  The rule is that the couple whose turn it is to have a date can use the time however they wish.  (Shannon actually wants to use one of ours to take a NAP!!)

Saturday night was the very first night and Shannon and I were on the schedule to watch the kids.  God bless my husband because he has an extreme amount of patience when it comes to kids (except for homework time but that’s another story altogether!).  I think the key to making this work is having something planned to entertain the kids so they don’t get bored.  We decided to get a pizza for them since we had to eat too and we followed that with fresh baked cookies (thanks to Pillsbury) and Hotel Transylvania.

Unknown

All in all, I think it went quite well and I am really looking forward to our own date night in two weeks!

This entry was posted in Family Fun, Healthy Lifestyle, Mommy stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

