A Valentine for my Valentines…

You can say whatever you want to about Valentine’s Day, about how it was just a holiday created by the card companies, blah, blah, blah but I don’t care.  I love it!  I love it because it’s another day to do something special for my girls, a day to make them feel extra-loved and more important than anything.  And I do!

It takes quite a bit of preparation though.  For the last six years or so I’ve created a Valentine’s Day Scavenger Hunt for Gracie (and then a joint one as soon as Finley came along).  Cupid always leaves the first clue in Gracie’s room and then they have to solve the clues to find their loot.  It’s a lot of fun watching them race through the house looking for the next one!

This year I added a little something extra to their day by making a floating heart curtain hanging above their door.  I had hoped to have lots of hearts but we ran out of the twine to tie them on.  I’m planning to keep it for next year and just add on to it.  It seems silly but Gracie was so excited when she saw it that it made it all worth while.

528513_210692649075832_446173153_n

Next was a breakfast of chocolate pancakes.  This recipe added chocolate chip cookie dough inside the pancakes but I skipped that part since they were for breakfast.  I think once you add the cookie dough, it quickly becomes dessert.  Finley loved them, Gracie did not.  I will probably try to make them with the cookie dough at some point but throw on some ice cream to make it a real after-dinner treat.

As for me, I found this special loot on my desk when I walked into the office!  A super secret Valentine.  I can’t wait to plant my little seed!

IMG_0651

Finally, you can keep your diamonds and pearls, Shannon knows the true way to my heart is with a Whitman’s Sampler!!!

IMG_0653

Hope you all you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

This entry was posted in Baking, Family Fun, Kids, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

