The Metabolic Makeover – Week 7

Workouts (2/17 – 2/23):

  • Sunday – 3.03 mile walk (TM), 3% incline, 45:00 (watching a DVR’d episode of The Practice) – my knee was feeling a little funky so I decided to walk instead of run, 100 bicycle crunches, 1.5 hour dance party to Wii Just Dance 2 & 3
  • Monday – 30 mins CrossFit with trainer – cut short because of a pulled muscle

Week 7 of the Metabolic Makeover and a 67.6 hour work week is now complete.  What a wasted week!  My injury on Monday put me out for the entire week.  I could barely stand up straight so I had to call my chiropractor on Wednesday.  He made me cry but at least he gave hope for recovery.  On Wednesday, he did this:

IMG_0674

Yeah, I know…I’m totally bring sexy back!

And then I used these to ice my back:

IMG_0675

I wasn’t able to work out for the entire week.  I went back to see the chiro on Friday and he did more of the same to me, only this time I didn’t cry.  I am finally feeling much better but there’s still a little soreness there…and probably some fear that I could re-injure it.

I’ll probably take it easy for the next week in my workouts just to make sure I’m safe. Meanwhile, I have a busy week ahead of me with another business trip that requires a time change and long hours (as usual for this time of the year).

So this is what I learned…as I continue to work the hours that I do and my body gets more and more run down, I’m more susceptible to injury and illness.  Duh, right??  But in my line of work, I can’t just stop working the hours.  Instead, I have to really pay attention to what I’m doing so that I don’t lose proper form when I’m working out which increases my risk for injury.  I’ve also been suffering from a cold all week so it’s important to get the rest and sleep when I can.

I’m really very strict about sticking to my schedule which helps me stay on track.  I’m a morning person so I’m up Monday-Friday at 5 am to get a head start on my day.  Mondays and Fridays I work out at 5:45 but on Tuesday-Thursday, I utilize the time to actually do work.  It’s really a quiet, productive hour that I spend every morning getting stuff done.  On Wednesdays, I work out with my ladies at my house at 6 am so I’m still able to utilize that hour.

However, getting up at 5 am requires that I’m in bed, lights out no later than 10 pm each night.  In fact, most nights, I try to be in bed by 9:30 and definitely by 9 pm on Sunday nights.  People think I’m crazy, but it’s what works for me.  You have to find what works for you.

How do you handle changes in your routine?

This entry was posted in Food, Healthy Lifestyle, Kids, Running, Uncategorized, Workouts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Metabolic Makeover – Week 7

  1. eschof2 says:

    I try to go the gym 3 times a week. I have an hour commute into work so I have to go to the gym after work. I get to the gym for about 7.30pm and I was finding I was eating at nearly 9pm, which is terrible for weight loss. So now I try to eat my main meal at lunch, so I only have a light salad when I come in at 8.45pm. Going to gym can sometimes be a real chore but feeling confident in your body is so worth it! Keep it up 😊

Leave a Reply

