14 to Lean – Week 1

I’m not even going to lie, this program has been hard!  Like every other weight loss challenge, it tackles what you eat and how you exercise.

The meal plan is more of a list of what you CAN eat.  Anything not on the list, should not go in your mouth.  For me, the initial battle with any clean way of eating is just the feeling that I’m missing out.  And starting on April 15th was pretty insane on my part.  Every year we have an end-of-tax-season party with great food and lots of libations…but I held strong and didn’t have ANY of it.  Ah, those onion rings smelled AMAZING!  But the key is to pack healthy lunches and snacks to get by.

Baked tilapia with edamame and salsa

Baked tilapia with edamame and salsa

I’ve continued to do well, even making it through Finley’s birthday party with no bites of pizza or cupcakes.  Believe me, it wasn’t easy.  And I have her actual birthday ahead of me this week with more cupcakes and goodies on the horizon.  But I figure this program is only 14 days so I should be able to stick with that, right??  Pretty sure at some point, I looked like Lily and Kelsey waiting for a crumb to fall though…

IMG_0821

The workouts are so intense and time-consuming that I have to break them up into weight training in the morning and then the cardio segments at night.  I couldn’t stand the thought of heading out for a run after the girls go to bed so I’ve been doing the Wii Dance Party games at night with the girls.  It’s a LOT more fun AND I seriously work up a sweat.  The morning weight training has me close to puking most mornings but I keep pushing through them.

I can’t tell you how excited we all were to have Thursday off from working out.  We were just so exhausted!   Truth be told, we’ve been a lot more exhausted this week than normal.  I think Shannon and I haven’t been eating enough so we’re going to add more to our meals this week.

So, at the end of this first week, it’s been tough, but I have lost 7 lbs since Monday morning.  I am pretty darn excited about that!  But don’t get me wrong, I’m looking forward to when I can add back small cheats – a bite of cupcake or glass of wine.  After all, there has to be some fun in life!

This entry was posted in Food, Healthy Lifestyle, Uncategorized, Workouts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

